The year in review

A strange thing happened a week ago yesterday. A strange thing that I could not address at the time, due to the other very strange thing that also quite suddenly occurred. But had that other very strange thing not occurred, I would have told you a week ago yesterday that my blog turned one.

It’s strange for two reasons. First and foremost, at only one year of age, my lil blog is already fully potty-trained. Secondly, after one year, I still love it. And I find myself oddly proud that it exists. I mean, in the grand scheme of things, I know it’ll just end up being one more blip, amongst a sea of blips. But this is my blip, and I made it.

Along the way, you good people have found my lil blog and – apparently gluttons for punishment, the whole lot of ya – you keep coming back. As a result, I’ve enjoyed watching my stats bar grow from the desolate plain it started out as, to the vibrant cityscape that I now see before me. Again, it may sound stupid, but this too makes me proud.

Now, while I don’t expect you to tap all of these, I thought what I would do is go through the year, and hand pick my favorite post for each month (in certain instances I could only narrow it down to two – deal!) It was a fun exercise, AND it was the very first time in my creative life where I was able to look back without seeing imaginary imperfections that drove me to simply tear up and discard my previous efforts.

Ready?

We’ll start of course, at the beginning. But before we do, I just need to tell you, this singular post – this one right here – has been one of my most read posts ever. EVA. I swear, almost every day since it was published, it shows up on the “Top Posts” section on my dashboard. Why is it so popular? I’ve no idea. If you happen to figure it out, tell me. I’d like to incorporate whatever it is into ALL my posts.

OK. Now, the list…

5/31 – I have something to tell you…

6/9 – this little adventure

7/24 – Love, NY Style, 7/26 – Nobody Weird Like Me

8/9 – SPAM & Comfort, 8/19 – Naked Spoons

9/21 – Dear Jesus

10/12 – an unabashed love letter to the people of Saint Ann’s, 10/21 – Muscleheads & Misconceptions (possibly my most favorite ever)

11/30 – last Thanksgiving

12/7 – conversations of Santa & Cybermen

1/20 – Secret Lives, 1/23 – We Will Walk

2/20 – Neither the Prince nor Old Lady Shade

3/19 – All The Sad Men, Roaming Free

4/2 – The Uninspired Chronicles Conversation, 4/11 – I will Refuse…

5/31 – In Memorium (the shortest, and to date, hardest I’ve had to write thus far)

Now, before I let you go, I did want to thank you. For reals. It’s your reading that makes my writing possible. It’s your acceptance – your “tribe” – that keeps me here and happy. I’m blessed to be amongst such a creative crew, and inspired to become a better writer every time I read your blogs (OK, well, not exactly every time – but they can’t all be zingers now, can they?)

So feel free to dip into any of the above, and in the meantime, let’s get our weekend started out right. BD?

Hey man, what’d I tell you about “BD”?

Err, sorry. Bobby?

Yes?

Play us outta here.

It would be an absolute pleasure!

17 thoughts on “The year in review

  1. Well, first of all, that post that has so many hits is really a good one, and well worth the read (and the re-read). I like your descriptions and your little side-comments (like the one about putting a sweater on baby Jesus! Because of course, he might get cold!) I enjoyed reading it again.
    But I also suspect that it’s the one WordPress picked as one of the three that it sends along in the emails for other bloggers to read when they get a notification about your comments or likes. It’s a sample of your posts. You’d probably have to find out from another blogger what that email says, but the one Old Jules put up about Helicopters and Orange Jump Suits did the same thing for us.

    • I’m glad you liked it enough to re-read (and YES, Jesus so too does get cold!) And thanks also for the reminder – it could very well be on my “must reads” blurb within the WordPress email. Oh, how I wish they would let you choose the ones they would include!

That's my two cents. Now, tell me what you think...

