I LIKE it!

With the notable exception of the mixed tape, I strongly feel that the single greatest invention of the modern era is the “Like” button. However, my love of this little button-that-isn’t-an-actual-button-at-all is not the reason I’m writing about it today. Rather, my purpose is to hopefully clear up any possible misconceptions that might be floating about, by explaining my use of it to you. A usage that admittedly some may say borders on abusage. Yes, I know that that’s not a real word. I don’t care. I sounds cool.

As many of you whom I follow know, I can be a pretty avid user of the “Like” button (let me know if I ever use yours to the point of breaking it – you know, where the button gets semi-permanently stuck, squashed slightly under the hard rubber perimeter. Lodged in there just enough so that you can’t get it undone without first unscrewing the back plate and dismantling the whole mess – and I’ll gladly get you a new one). Now I click your “Like” buttons for one reason, and one reason only. Whatever you wrote, that I just read, I liked. Pure and simple. You wrote it. I liked it. And I used the second greatest invention of the modern era to let you know. And I hopefully didn’t break it in the process. Now, maybe I didn’t like your post to the point of physically jumping onto my desk and screaming “Brilliant!”, but it was good none the less. And I felt you should know that. In part, because I know that out here in Bloglandia, you can never be quite sure as to if what you just published is actually good, or if you’ve just tricked your brain into thinking it was (I feel it’s safe to say, I naturally assume my brain is duped far too often).

What the “Like” button is NOT for me is a marketing tool. Or a brush-off. If I’ve clicked your “Like” button, it wasn’t in an attempt to say “hey, I’m over here! Come check me out and pet my blog!” Nor was it me saying “I really couldn’t be bothered to respond to this drivel. But I do feel you should know I popped in for a bit. You’re welcome” No, I have one firm rule about my button usage. I only use it if, after reading your post, my brain says something to the effect of “I liked that.” I also sometimes pretend I’m British and say “that was jolly good” or “good show!” And yes, the occasional desk-jumping “Brilliant!” can also be heard from time to time. *Proactive digression alert* Is it proper to use “time to time” immediately after making use of an “occasional”? I only ask because that last sentence seemed to simply fall off a cliff without the “time to time” bit. But now it just seems a tad redundant. Anywho, back on topic. What I was trying to say in the linguistic contraption above is this: if I’ve liked your post, I wasn’t simply waving at you to say hello (although as long as we’re at it, “hello!”), I was just letting you know that I think that you’re a good writer/photographer/artist/apologist/thinker/tinker/humorist/philosopher/protester/story teller/candlestick maker and/or chef. Although, to be honest, I never really read the recipe blogs, and I’m none to sure there’s even a one dedicated to candle craftsmanship. Please don’t tell me if I’m wrong.

“So, if you like my stuff so much t, then how come you so very rarely comment?” Well, here’s where it might start to sound a bit insincere, if not downright cheesy. But honestly, there are times when I feel that what was written was so perfect and/or complete that additional comments just aren’t warranted. And in fact, the comments made by others can sometimes appear to me to be either just idle (and sometimes downright creepy) adoration, or a shameless plug for the commenter’s site. In short, I see comments – made of an unnecessary nature – as simply serving to only muddy the whole point of the post, in lieu of enhancing it. And seeing as I would hate to muddy your post, unless I feel I really have something to add, I most often refrain. Unless I’m drunk at the time, of course, but that’s a wholly other story. Now, what I just said does not in any way pertain to my Blogspot cousins. Seeing as how your site won’t pony up the $19.95* required for a “Like” button function, I am “forced” to leave comments to show my appreciation. To me, it feels very much like putting on an overly starched and ill-fitting suit, just prior to coming over for tea on a hot summer day. As a result, I apologize if my comments on your pages seem to be born of either of the two scenarios I noted above.

And please, don’t even get me started on the mountain of security measures your place has just to gain admittance. Seems to me they could afford a “Like” button if they laid off just two of the apparent eight thousand CAPTCHA writers they have on staff. So, since I’m not allowed to “Like” you, I would ask that you instead accept this post today as your symbolic click, good for multiple uses, until such time as you have your own.

So, it looks like I’ll be letting you out a little early today, well under 1,000 words. Sorry if this one was a snooze, but I felt it was important to clear up any possible misunderstandings, as it has been weighing on me for a bit. As I mentioned before, to a certain extent we’re all just sort of free-falling out here, not really knowing if we’re understood or not. Unsure if we’ve “nailed it,” or have simply duped ourselves into thinking we have. And I wanted you to know, when you see my little square head directly beneath your “Like” button, you can rest assured that I feel you’re much more on the “nail” end of the equation than on the “dupe.” Good show!

So, to recap:

• If I click the “Like” button, it’s because I liked it.

• If I don’t comment afterwards, it’s simply because I feel you nailed it.

• Abusage would be a cool word.

Well, after just saying that, I suppose we could have actually wrapped up this post in well under 30 words. I hope this didn’t feel like a waste of time. And in fact, I hoped you liked it enough to take advantage of second the greatest invention of the modern era to let me know.

*I’m totally guessing at this price point. But if I’m close, let me know and I’ll be glad to float Blogspot a twenty.

23 thoughts on “I LIKE it!

  1. This post needs a LOVE button! You are awesome t!

    I am still not getting your posts in my mail but fear not I am willing to check in daily :P

    • Thanks =)

      This one was a real Mutha, but fun! Sorry you don’t get email warning shots, but you’re pretty safe checking in on M/W/F, or just once a week really. Thanks for sticking it out with me!

  2. There was a post floating around facebook for awhile that asked if you were a commenter, a liker, or a stalker. The whole point of the post, of course, is that the stalkers would say nothing, the commenters would say something, and the likers would click like. It was very funny. I’m a commenter. A hopeless commenter. I do believe in returning traffic. If somebody visits me and takes the time to comment or click like, then yeah, I take the time to visit back and, because I’m me, I ALWAYS have something to add. Well, sometimes it’s a stretch, but seriously, I have talking issues like you wouldn’t believe, even if the talking is really typing.

    *Proactive digression alert* Is it proper to use “time to time” immediately after making use of an “occasional”?

    I’d say that you’re safely in the poetic license zone.

    • Well, thanks so much for adding what you did and for helping me out with my writing concern! And all without grafting “age” onto to any of the words!

  3. Indeed this was a post to proclaim likeage of.
    As a bonus feature, you could not go wrong with Mr Tennant. :)
    Good writing and good looks all wrapped up in one bundle. Bonus!

  4. Is it wrong that I read this with an English accent in my head after you mentioned that you do it sometimes? Lol. I do like abusage. Let’s lobby the Free Merriam Webster Dictionary until we get it included, shall we?

    I too am a commenter, though I’ve started utilizing the like button more as well. it does feel really good to have someone click it, especially if they are a random stranger visiting for the first time (that I’m aware of anyway).

    • #1 – it is NEVER wrong to read things in an English accent.

      #2 – even if the Spammers clicked my “like” button, I’d most likely get a bit giddy inside.

      #2.5 – Nothing really to add, just felt like throwing in one more point.

      Thanks for commenting!

  5. it is hard to stay (fill in the blank with steroid induced poo)(ok maybe more steroid unleashed poo–dear god how can anyone ever tell?!) after uttering said sound brilliant sooo many times, i might do it again and again for a bit

That's my two cents. Now, tell me what you think...

