Briefly… 100 Words Plus A Sentence

Wait… is this my first-ever 100 Word Song AND Master Class 2013 Mash Up?

Hot damn, I think it is. But you tell me – as I’d love to know if you’ve been paying attention. Lord knows I haven’t…

Anywho – I saw both challenges, and just knew that I had to make them work together (in part, because I had no earthly idea what to do with them individually!) I hope it worked out in the end. And I hope that you enjoy reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it.

storch-badgerobot-badge

“Do-ya mind… iffff I play tha ukulele?”

He slurred it to no one in particular, as he sat alone, drunk on the park bench. While playing, some pigeons waddled over to inspect it, his efforts, that is. Finding his talent lacking (and he without bread), they went their way; wreaking a havoc different than his upon people simply trying to enjoy themselves – sans pigeons and the homeless.

But he was no mere homeless. No, He was the Savior. The Messiah. The King returned to His people.

Sadly, neither the people, nor the pigeons, nor even himself knew all that. And as such, the world just continued to tip.

•••

This week’s song was chosen by Deana: “Tight Rope” by Janelle Monae

And Prof “asked Lexy to choose any book and give me a 10:” from the 10th page of Terry Pratchett’s “Mort.”

29 thoughts on “Briefly… 100 Words Plus A Sentence

  1. I loved the story! =) Everything goes perfect together. Bravo!
    Both your words and the music made me remember many things. Makes you wonder what is the reality, the one of the genius or the one of the world? Honestly I rather have the beauty of the genius than the grey of the wide world… :)
    PS: it seems that even the pigeons have lost their pure heart (as mentioned in the Bible) and think in terms of food, rather than peace. :)

    • I’m am glad you liked it k~, and I hope it could bring a smile to your face (my only other option of making that occur would be by posting a video of me dancing…)

      =)

  2. The influences of perception. Quoting from a 1960s vintage song:

    Cold hearted orb that rules the night
    Removes the colours from our sight
    Red is grey and yellow, white
    But we decide which is right
    And which is an illusion

    ~ Graeme Edge

  3. i’m not a religious kind of person, well at least not the kind that prays to a personified deity, but there’s a yogic thought that boils down to ‘God lives in you, as you’ (and yes, i had heard this before Eat, Pray, Love ;) that i try to remember when someone is annoying me just by existing in space that i wish were unoccupied. i have enough faith in humanity to believe that sooner or later someone will give the pigeons some snacks and the pauper minstrel some coin…

  4. Pingback: Master Class Summer Edition #3 | My Write Side

  5. Pingback: Master Class Summer Edition #3 | Our Write Side

That's my two cents. Now, tell me what you think...

