Trifecta 99: Trifecta 1st attempt

Bacall would’ve been proud, Gabriella thought, while wiping the make-up muddled blood from her lip.

Hell, Gabriella was proud, but not because she’d gone down swinging; and definitely not because they decided to kick the “fag outta him,” in the first.

No, she was proud because with every return blow dealt, she felt her conviction rising – her belief in her true nature, becoming real.

She knew now who she was. She believed in whom that person would someday be.

As Gabe gazed into the mirror, Gabriella smirked back at him, filled with newfound life.

Yeah… Bacall would’ve been proud.

•••

Picture11-1

This is my unintended return to the land of Blogsville, and my first-ever attempt at banging out a couple of words (99 to be exact) for kids over at the Trifecta Writing Challenge. Having no intention of doing so, when I saw that the word “Bacall” was available for use as a prompt, I decided to finally swallow my fears and jump onboard with the continuation of my little tale of GabriellaHaving a shot at the $99 Gift Card didn’t hurt either, but this blog is ALL ABOUT THE ART, people…!

I hope you click through the Gabriella link to read the previous installment, I hope you join in the challenge yourselves, and as always, I do hope you enjoy.

40 thoughts on “Trifecta 99: Trifecta 1st attempt

  1. Gabriella, Gabe and Bacall…All so proud.

    I liked the POV and the voice, it was the perfect mix of masculine and feminine (which is what I think you wanted to put across) ;)

  2. Fantastic – what great strength of conviction. I like the hopefulness and pride she displays. I did go back and read the previous installment, which I also enjoyed – there’s a fierceness to Gabriella that seems to be just beginning to break out, and I love it.

That's my two cents. Now, tell me what you think...

