Turn to stone

Cut, cut, snip, snip.

I do apologize Friday Fictioneers, but even after many excursions into word removal operations, I was still unable to obtain the solid 100 word count I usually aim for, without losing the entire flow of this week’s story.

Yes, assuming that there is any flow to this week’s story in the first…

Hope you enjoy =)

Copyright -Kent Bonham

Copyright -Kent Bonham

I’ll never make it up there, daddy.

Yes you will.

It’s too high.

Not too high dear. Besides, you’ve those outcroppings to pull upon.

It’s scary tall.

But only until you reach the top. Then it’s open, fresh.

Like our old place?

Like our old place.

Daddy, can’t we go back there?

No dear, they tore it down.

I liked it.

Me too, but life doesn’t always give what we like. You’ll grow to enjoy here too.

Will I be able to play here?

Not once we reach the top, you know that.

Then we just sit and watch?

Yes, when we reach the top, we sit and watch. Like all good gargoyles do, dear.

•••

71 thoughts on “Turn to stone

  1. Nicely done t~ The story could have been anyone, up until the end. You’ve done the Friday Fictioneers proud! (and I love gargoyles).

  2. I sense deeper meaning to your story. How life changes, shifts and/or morphs. And we as humans, or gargoyles must grow and adapt to the changes. Sometimes they harden us. Sometimes soften. Sometimes they leave us indifferent. I see all three elements in this story of yours. It is so very good. To hell with 100 words!

    • Renee, with me you know there’s always deeper meaning – I like to think I’m complicated like that =)

      PS: glad all those elements shown through for you!

      • Yes my dear, I most certainly do. You’re a complicated creature yes, but I like to think I have figured out some of your heart. As you have figured out part of mine. I think it makes our stories shine more when someone we know reads us.

  3. A moral to this story with a surprise ending. Well done. Don’t fret … you’re on your 100-word path. ps: I saw Bobby Darin perform many moons ago, at the famous Copacabana in NYC. He was the BEST!

      • Hello again – Sorry, didn’t get his autograph. I was with my date who would have frowned upon it….Anyhow,.something like that was not done at the famous Copacabana which was run by the Mafia …and they were all sitting ringside, cheering on their talented “boy.”

  4. My first reaction was a chortle and a giggle. Then I couldn’t help but think upon the endearing relationship between the two. You captured the father/son dimensions at their best.
    A delightful read.

    • Thank you so much Carolyn – with all the word chopping I had to do, I was worried that that relationship wouldn’t show through – glad that it still did!

    • Thanks Perry – me thinks I’d like to join the gargoyles at times as well. And the ELO selection? It literally invaded my head as I wrote the last edit for this =)

  5. Lovely twist at the end. I liked the formatting too – italicising the father’s side of the dialogue. I did dialogue this week too and tried various types of formatting – wish I’d thought of this!
    Great story :)

    • Thank you =)

      At first I had them reversed, but I wanted the child’s voice to be more “urgent,” the father’s more soothing, so I swapped the order.

      And no worries, yours read beautifully!

  6. Haha! Love it! So fun to read meaning and depth of that sort, with a fantasy element. Good dialog. It will make me think twice next time I see a gargoyle. You’re a good story teller, I look forward to reading your FF in the future.

  7. I enjoyed this story. It’s a beautiful flow and I agree you should not cut it to meet the count. I know I have cut into mine severely at times to get the count exact but I think I will sacrifice word count before story in the future.

    • Thank you very much, and I agree! In fact, I believe I now have a couple of pretty decent story lines laying about out here that need to be reworked, minus any word count restrictions.

  8. wow! that ending took me by surprise :) i think the story’s adorable and full of your awesome imagination. enjoyed it a lot :)

    • As I told the priest when I was a wee young one, and he asked what my mission in life was to be, I said, “to surprise kz, of course sir!”

      Mission accomplished!

      Thank you kz, for enjoying =)

  9. Oh love this! You took what many are creeped out about and gave us something tender and sweet. I’ll never look at a gargoyle the same way.

  10. You’re a natural at this. Why is it again you haven’t been published as a short story author? You remind me of another Shel Silverstein – A Light In The Attic – one of my favorite books I used this often with my ESL students. Yay!

    • So much thanks Amy – really =)

      I believe I’m not published yet, because I can’t get myself focused much past a thousand words or so (and those make for some pretty damned short books!)

  11. I love the word ‘gargoyles’. I don’t know, I just do! Such a funny word.

    Great piece, enjoyed it.

That's my two cents. Now, tell me what you think...

