7/31 Quitter

i know i don’t normally post on the weekends, but today is a very special day for me. Today marks my second year of being a “Quitter”.

butt-free for 2 years!

i wrote the below as a facebook “note” after i had first completed my cessation program, and am re-posting it today in honor of my new-found freedom. If you’re thinking about becoming a Quitter, then get help, get determined and get going! And PLEASE, read the note about the plastic ciggie – it really was a Lifesaver…

 

12 weeks ago…

…I decided to do something I never thought would happen – I decided to undo something I never thought would happen 22 years ago.

I decided to quit smoking.

And here are some random thoughts that popped into my noodle during this time:

• I used the gum this time. I wasn’t successful with patches last time round, but in retrospect, I don’t think I was chewing them correctly.

• They said that you may have occasional depression. By “occasional” they mean about 22 hours out of every day for the first month or so.

• “Occasional” also applies to paranoia.

• Paranoia sometimes really IS based on reality.

• I’m really proud of how well C deals with “Withdrawal t”.

•Thanking God that I don’t have to give up “triggers” such as sex, coffee, sex, booze and sex.

• Laugh if you will, but creating a plastic “cigarette” really helps if you’re addicted to the physical process of smoking as well.

• Days seem a lot longer (sometimes good, sometimes bad) when you’re not waiting for your next fix.

• Ex-smokers are still the worst – but while I used to hate their superior attitude, now I realize that a portion of it is because they are secretly longing after that glowing rod in your hand.

• my little brother will now make a “glowing rod” joke.

• I’m really proud of how well my children deal with “Withdrawal Daddy”.

• I’ve kept my quitting a secret from most everybody to help avoid pressure. And no one who knew (I’m guessing everyone) has ever let on that they knew.

• They said you should take the extra money you now have from not buying cigarettes and get something nice for yourself…

• …but in so doing, I found out that I never actually had the money to buy cigarettes in the first place.

4 thoughts on “7/31 Quitter

  1. Congrats on being a Quitter. It is a big achievement. I am really impressed by the design of your blog with all the vinyl and the Bobby Darin header. I like it a lot!

    • Much thanks! i often tell my children – the only thing that would make me prouder than being an ex-smoker is if i had never been one in the first place…

      Thanks also for digging my blog – hope to see you ’round :)

  2. This made me spit my pancake. Please do not ask why I am having pancake at 8:04 p.m.
    Thank God I didn’t get addicted to smoking! It also helps that I turn blue and hack out a lung when exposed to even the smell of it on clothing.

    The laughing bit came from identification with the same sorts of things that come along with the removal uhm dealing with other addictions. For lack of a better word–the world is entirely grateful that I stopped. It is still in one piece.

That's my two cents. Now, tell me what you think...

