7/29 radio days and average skeletons

Deplorable.

You promise your friend that you’re really going to spend time this week digging into “who you are”, and then you go and post a total throw-away fluff piece about Ska music instead.

A most regrettable use of time and effort, don’t you think? i mean, what did that dribble actually tell you about You? What deep-seated secret did it uncover? What skeleton, buried in which closet, was revealed by your blurb?

None, i suppose.

But maybe that’s because i don’t have too many skeletons. Or maybe they’re simply skeletons of a different sort. You know, the average kind. For instance, maybe the post said more about me than about the music.

In my world – music is always playing – has been ever since i was a little child. My mom used to continually have the kitchen radio playing (i can still hear it, the announcer saying: “WJYE – Joy. All music, all the time”.). It played what we called “old people stuff”, and it really did play it all the time. Unless a vendor happened to interrupt to hawk their wares, of course. All day long, artists like Miller, Streisand, Mancini, Bennet and Sinatra (to mention a few…) could be heard belching out from the radio’s speakers. At the time, i thought it was because my mom had a love of music that the radio was always on, but recent developments cause me to question that belief.

Music also proved to be my very first Best Friend. Turns out, being shy is most decidedly NOT your best defense when getting picked on, and most often (like, in every single instance) instead of standing up for myself, i would run away instead. Run back home to mommy. Run back home to music.

They would both coax me, both tell me everything would be all right – each in their own way. As time progressed, i came to rely on music to not only soothe, but also guide. i became aware that those who played music were Cool… Especially the ones i was finding who didn’t play “old people stuff”. They had it all – the girls, the fame, the big house, the Life. The Life i wanted.

Turns out they also had talent. Well, most of them at any rate. And talent was the one thing i did NOT possess. Well, of a musical bent at any rate.

So life moved on. And my rock star dreams diminished over time, as i grew in strength and wisdom. But the music remained a big part of my life, and it still provides the audio landscape to my existence. It’s still my best friend too. Well, second to C.

Mom however, gave up on playing music when she reached a certain age, and while she still has the kitchen radio on all the time, now-a-days it only spurts out “talk radio” from it’s tiny and worn-down speakers.

When i hear it droning on, i can tell mom’s radio misses the “Joy” of days past. Lord knows i do…

from radioattic.com

4 thoughts on “7/29 radio days and average skeletons

  1. I was raised in the early 70’s so Joplin, Hendrix, and Croce wafted through our house. Now that I have rocked through the 80’s, which was a great music era, listened to the mainstream drivel of the 90’s which also gave birth to my first 2 daughters…my musical taste has changed a bit. Granted I still love the 80’s, but with kids and trying to please their tastes your range is altered and exposed to new sounds. I have 7 children and all have different musical tastes. We have a rocker, country, theme songs, soul, nature sounds, native American flutes, but the smaller of the children is a 3 year old. Her taste surprised me and I enjoy the most. She so loves the Caribbean/ Hawaiian music. I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed it. With her we can explore music and have found her ear also perks up to the old Rat Pack. Michael Buble is also a heavy contender in our house…a far cry from Scorpion or Ratt. The 80’s seems to be the heart and soul of us “generation x’ers” but sometimes an escape to the islands mon is needed too.

    • So true!

      We have quite the musical jungle in our house as well, with just about everything (with the exception of house, oddly enough) being heard at one time or another.

      And yes, even Ratt and The Scorpions occassionally have their say…

  2. Music also plays a big part in my life and the life of my family. Nearly every major memory in my life as music attached to it. The soundtrack to the last year of my parents’ marriage was The Eagles. I totaled my mom’s car in 10th grade while “The Hanging Gardens” by The Cure was playing. My boyfriend (husband now) suggested we become mutually exclusive (his words) while “The Promise” by When in Rome was Playing. The first 6 mos of my daughter’s life she would only go to sleep to Steve Miller Band and she learned to walk to The Squirrel Nut Zippers.

    It’s satisfying to see my kids’ iPods full of music that I love. I like having a common thread.

    BTW, the music that you love does have a lot to do with “who you are.” I’m sure your friend understands. ;)

That's my two cents. Now, tell me what you think...

